Top 5 most awesome things about San Diego

Husband and I went to San Diego this weekend to spend Easter with the Brogs. It was a loooong drive but pulling up to my parent’s house always makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. There’s nothing quite like coming home, and even as an old married lady, I still love walking into a house and yelling, “Hi, mom!”

So here are some of my favs about the hometown:

Shopping

SLO is lovely and all, but driving 30 minutes to go to Target is dumb. And you have to drive nearly 2 hours to Nordstrom. And 4 hours to Ikea. But not in SD; all these fab stores are within 5 minutes of each other, depending on traffic… (one thing I do not miss about the whale’s you know what)

Home church

I started going to Gateway when I was 16 and I really love going home and seeing friends who I grew up with. It’s a good thing to walk into a place you haven’t been in months and have it feel like you were there yesterday. 🙂

Food

My mom is the best cook and she keeps all kinds of yummy treats on hand. Husband loves this since I will not keep Ding Dongs in our house. I’m an equal opportunity junk food lover and all, but if any type of chocolate is in our cupboards, I eat it… no Snickers minis for us. So while we’re on vacation at the Brack house, I enjoy all those goodies.

TV

We only have NBC at our house, so I love crashing on the couch and catching up on good shows like Khloe and Lamar, The O’Reilly Factor, and anything on the Lifetime Movie Network. Also, TV keeps Sean busy while I’m at Fashion Valley.

Family

And the most awesome thing about San Diego is the Brackrog family! I miss being surrounded by all the love and hilarity. My dad and his pirate eye and stories about his gym successes; Bub and the way his off color comments make you gag over dinner; Manda and her starry eyes when she talks about Eugy or total knee replacements; and Brother Brian and how he can sleep in the middle of the living room with 27 people playing Kinect bowling 3 feet from his face. And my super wonderful mom, who holds the whole fam together with her yummy cooking and huge heart. Love you guys, and miss you all tons.

One thought on “Top 5 most awesome things about San Diego

  1. Anna says:

    I love this post. Maybe one of my favorites. Probably because it makes me feel like you love being in San Diego, so then I hope we get to keep seeing you guys because you’ll actually come down to visit often. Thank goodness your family, Gateway, and Fashion Valley are here or it might be a little tougher!!! 🙂 SO happy to see you both… what a joy. Can’t wait until next time!!!!

Leave a Reply

