Weekend in review

We were planning on going skiing last weekend, but we could not pass up the gorgeous February weather. We skipped the snow and opted for a hike along Reservoir Canyon.

I heard about this trail from a girl in my bible study. She said there was a waterfall at the bottom and a gorgeous view from the top. What she didn’t say was that it was almost 5.5 miles long! It never occurred to me to research the trail, so it wasn’t until we were 2 hours in with no summit in sight that I decided to Google it. To my delight, we were less than a mile from the top! To my chagrin, the last mile was the hardest. “Something like a parabolic curve,” said the description, which I assume is a fancy math word for straight-up! I would have been happy to quit and later lie about it, but Sean told me to press on! And wouldn’t you know it, he was right? The view was incredible! We could see Morro Bay, Avila Beach, and the Pismo Dunes.

For those athletic readers who think I’m sad for struggling on this hike, let me remind you that I am with child. And that child is hogging about 30% of my oxygen. At least it feels that way.

One the way up the mountain, there was a gigantic tree with a rope swing. Sean enjoyed swinging while I contemplated calling the National Guard to come get me.

We made it back to the car just after dark, and then we went home and collapsed on the couch. I’m going to go ahead and check exercise off my to-do list for the week month.

Have a relaxing Monday!

Leave a Reply

