36 weeks

I can barely believe our little babe is due in one month, or less, if he’s a good boy! That’s 4 weeks, people. 28 days to read 6 baby books, learn to change a diaper, finish the nursery, and do one last deep clean of the house.

Lots of mixed emotions going on over here. On one hand, I am so ready to meet this baby and get back into normal clothes! On the other, I’m really nervous about inviting someone else to live with us. What if he’s a horrible roommate? What if I’m allergic? What if I’m a horrible mother? What if all that stuff about never going on a date again is true?

Then again, what if it’s all just fine? What if I learn that my secret calling is soothing whiney babies, and what if Sean and I take advantage of all you nice folks who have offered to baby sit? What if it’s just like raising a puppy? We did that and Harper is a fairly well-adjusted dog, and we love her so much. In fact, when Sean and I get really nervous about being parents, we keep reminding each other how much we love our dog. And if we love little Mickey half as much as we love Harper, we should be one happy family.

How Far Along: 36 weeks, which is 9 months. A sad reminder that pregnancy is actually 10 months. Spread the word.

Baby Size: 6 lbs, about the size of a crenshaw melon. I googled it. And I regret it.

Total Weight Gain: 30 lbs. Yikes! I’m right in the acceptable range of 25-35 pounds, and so glad that I wasn’t alive in the 1940’s. Sean’s grandma Mary was a nurse back then and said pregnant women were only supposed to gain 18-20 pounds. But they were also allowed to smoke and drink cocktails, so what did doctors know?

Maternity Clothes? When I go out in public. Otherwise, it’s Sean’s clothes.

Stretch Marks? Still slathering and praying!

Sleep: Off and on. I’m just not that sleepy. And sometimes when I am sleepy, my legs are not. Restless Leg Syndrome, it’ s real thing; makes me want to get up and dance! So come on over and we can have a dance party at 3am!

Best moment this week: Ryan and Carolyn’s wedding! It was a wonderful evening filled with love and friends and dancing and food. Probably my 4 favorite things! Sean rocked his role as best man and looked so handsome in his tux. And he delivered a sweet and hilarious speech. Very proud of that man and so honestly blessed that he’s mine!

Miss Anything? More like miss everything. Margaritas, reliable emotions, tying my own shoes, not peeing when I sneeze.

Movement: Yes. His head is lodged somewhere in my pelvis, and he likes to run his little legs between my ribs.

Food Cravings: Yes, but I won’t go there. I live in the high protein, low carb, and absolutely no sugar world. It’s a sad place.

Anything making you queasy or sick? No.

Labor Signs: I’m 50% effaced, whatever that means.

Belly button in or out? Popped.

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy. Except for the brief crying spells. Then happy again. Don’t judge me.

Looking forward to: Just meeting this kid and finding out if it was all worth it.

That tank is from H&M and it’s a pre-baby item! Woo hoo! I’m stretching those stripes as far as they’ll go!

How do you like the red lips? Let’s all agree that they detract from the enormous belly.

One thought on “36 weeks

  1. Whitney says:

    Hard to believe & it might even get harder to believe as the next 4 weeks drag, but I swear it’s all worth it a million times over. <– This coming from the most horrid preggers ever! 🙂

Leave a Reply

