Hello again

Statement of the obvious: Blogging more regularly was not my New Year’s Resolution.

I instead resolved to give up soda (again) and quit that nasty nail biting habit (three years running). At least I’m consistent.

A little update on the McG’s over here. Sean is still the best looking and hardest working husband on the block. He makes a lot of sacrifices so Luke and I can play all day, and I could never thank him enough. He’s a great dad too. Jack. Pot.

Image

I’m busy raising a little human and trying to be a photographer. Big things are happening this year, and I’m excited to finally know what I want to be when I grow up!

jan-1

Luke is now 6 months old and completely hysterical. I take back all the awful things I said about kids; they really are spectacular. Luke loves to blow spit bubbles and lounge in the bathtub and he laughs whenever Harper comes into the room. And when he wakes up from a nap and looks at me with that gummy smile, I feel as though I’m going to melt into a giant puddle on the floor because it’s just the absolute best sight I have ever seen.

jan-1-2It’s hard to put into words how being Luke’s mom has changed my heart. I want to be a better person because I know that there’s a little one looking at everything I say and do, and he’s bound to repeat the good and the bad. So I’m working harder than ever at being an example… a kind, and patient, and loving, and encouraging example. Because I want my boy to be one of the good ones.

jan-1 Sometimes, late at night, when I rock Luke to sleep, I have these quiet moments of clarity. I feel so thankful for my precious boy who I love so much. And I’m thankful for God, because I know that He loves Luke even more than I do. And I’m in awe at the fact that the God of the universe loves my son even more than I do! And I love Luke a lot. I would give anything for him. I would die for him. And suddenly, I get it. I really really get it. And I am so blown away by His love, that He allows us to experience it in this life.

So I’m going to enjoy each and every second of raising this little babe. Because if I’ve learned this much in 6 short and sleepless months, I can barely imagine how much I’ll learn over the next 20 years.

My mom must be a genius!

Leave a Reply

